Clean Plate Club

………………………………………………………………………………………………….
My designs on recycled plates These are some samples of my
three designs on a variety of found orphaned plates. I am happy to report that they all have found new homes.
………………………………………………………………………………………………….

About a year ago, I introduced a line of designs that I combine with recycled plates. I find used dinner pieces and add artwork to the artwork on the plate for a unique combination. So these days, I spend a lot of my Saturday mornings cruising flea markets, thrift shops and garage sales for interesting plates to use. I look for those unloved plates that need a second life. Then, I take them home, clean them up, and give them an updated look with three new designs of mine. These new pieces are all one of a kind, and I try to find a store around the country that will sell them to a nice family. The plates that I find have more time left, and shouldn’t end up in another landfill.


………………………………………………………………………………………………….
I’ve had this plate for 15 years or so Before I even knew that I started my dinnerware collection, I found this at a Salem, Massachusetts flea market.
………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I can tell you that there are thousands and thousands of pieces out there that are still pretty good-looking. With all of these plates waiting to be used, what is the neeed for paper plates?

………………………………………………………………………………………………….
One of my new favorites I found this awesome Cee-Bee Laboratories and McGean-Rohco, Inc plate last week! Who knew a laboratory could be so boringly beautiful.
………………………………………………………………………………………………….

There are some plates that I find however, that are too good to be recycled, and are perfect just the way they are. So, I now have a little problem with collecting too many of these beauties and keeping them for myself. It is really starting to be a bad habit, as my home collection is growing. Here are photos of ones that I found and can’t let go.


………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Dinner with the presidents Kentucky State College put together a plate of it’s presidents. When I have dinner with these guys, I feel very important!
………………………………………………………………………………………………….


………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Simple and fresh Here is a closeup of a simple little design of pine cones. I just like how elegant it is.
………………………………………………………………………………………………….


………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Books and dinner The design crams a little literary history down while I have dinner. I love reading while I eat.
………………………………………………………………………………………………….


…………………………………………………………………………………………………. Little treasures I can’t really put new artwork on these finds as they are too small, but I couldn’t help myself… so, I added them to my collection.
………………………………………………………………………………………………….

………………………………………………………………………………………………….
New items
I have started painting on some of the plates that I find in order to make something completely new. I am still working out little problems with the materials, but I am having a blast.

………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Go out and sponsor an orphaned plate, vase, or something headed for the trash heap. Giving an old piece a second life will make you feel better, and give the trash man a break!

Until next time
—Christopher
The Design Brothers

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Clean Plate Club”

  1. Jane Wilson Says:

    Chris, you are a plate fanatic! To our benefit, though. We love our “Trudy” on the kitchen wall flapping her golden wings. Love the Cee-bee labs plate, reminds me of Guy Billout – http://www.guybillout.com/

    You are going to need a larger storage area! 🙂 Cheers, Jane


Leave a Reply

