The perfect Sunday coffee

I’m not a a big coffee drinker. Sometimes, I find myself apologizing to people for not wanting to share a cup over a meeting. In some circles, I have to defend my decision not to have a cup after a nice dinner, as it seems that most Americans love their coffee.

I’d rather start my day with oatmeal, a bowl of fruit and some juice. To be truly honest, I think that waffles and bacon would be a better choice. Don’t forget the fruit and whipped cream! My drink of choice… orange juice.

………………………………………………………………….
Grandma Jurek and Christopher waiting for that morning cup of Joe.
………………………………………………………………….

However, Sunday mornings are different. I save that morning for a cup of coffee, some toast, and the New York Times. The smell in the kitchen takes me back to childhood… back to our grandmother Jurek’s house on Sunday after church. She always had a percolator brewing, sugar out and ready, with some soft butter nearby.

It is hard to believe that, as children, we were allowed to drink all this caffeine, along with the three heaping spoonfuls of sugar and condensed milk. Today, on Sunday, I am transported back in time for a few hours.

The reason for the snotty attitude about coffee is that the coffee has to be perfect,, and I am a snob. That is why I don’t like to order it out at a restaurant, as it will never be right. The milk has to be steamed, and the quantity of sugar (not so much as when I was a kid) are necessary. Fake creamers are not an option. I agree. Too many rules.

I had the fortune of getting it right on Sunday. The color of the coffee, and also the toast, is a rare occurence. So, when I achieved that perfect mocha brown color… I had to show everyone (see above). For all of you designers out there, the coffee is PMS 723 while the toast should be PMS 153. Perfection. Delicious.

I hope you find that perfection once  in awhile, as I always say, it is those little things that bring joy to life.

Until next time.
— Christopher

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “The perfect Sunday coffee”

  1. Peggy Says:

    Christopher,
    That is exaclty the color I ask for when I order my double half caf w/ a little full fat(none of this skim stuff)milk.
    I understand!


Leave a Reply

